The Oviedian, a yearbook for the 1943-1944 school year at Oviedo High School. Oviedo High School is a Seminole County Public School located in Oviedo, Florida. Originally called the Oviedo School, the institution was first established in 1932 as a K-12 school. In 1948, the secondary grades separated from the elementary school. The upper grade levels formed Oviedo High School and moved to the campus at 601 King Street. Oviedo High School is notable for The Lion's Tale, the award-winning school newspaper recognized by various national and state scholastic press associations; its high ratings from the Governor's A+ Plan for Education; and its successful athletics programs.]]> The Oviedian]]> The Oviedian, Vol. VII (Oviedo, FL: Oviedo High School, 1944): Private Collection of Kathryn Aulin Bunch.]]> Oviedo High School]]> The Oviedian, Vol. VII (Oviedo, FL: Oviedo High School, 1944).]]> Oviedo Historical Society Collection, Oviedo Collection, Seminole County Collection, RICHES of Central Florida.]]> Adobe Acrobat Reader]]> The Oviedian.]]> Oviedo High School and is provided here by RICHES of Central Florida for educational purposes only.]]> Oviedo Woman's Club]]> Oviedo Historical Society Collection, Oviedo Collection, Seminole County Collection, RICHES of Central Florida.]]> Adobe Acrobat Reader]]> Oviedo Woman's Club and is provided here by RICHES of Central Florida for educational purposes only.]]> Oviedo Woman's Club]]> Oviedo Historical Society Collection, Oviedo Collection, Seminole County Collection, RICHES of Central Florida.]]> RICHES of Central Florida for educational purposes only.]]> First United Methodist Church of Oviedo]]> Oviedo Historical Society Collection, Oviedo Collection, Seminole County Collection, RICHES of Central Florida.]]> Adobe Flash Player]]> First United Methodist Church of Oviedo and is provided here by RICHES of Central Florida for educational purposes only.]]> The Sanford Herald. This particular issue featured school news found in The Sanford Builder's edition from April 20, 1952.


Originally located at 301 West Seventh Street in Sanford, Florida, Sanford Grammar School was first established as Sanford High School in 1902. The building was designed by W. G. Talley in the Romanesque revival style. Due to an increasing student population, a new school building was constructed on Sanford Avenue in 1911. The original building on Seventh Street served as Westside Grammar Elementary School, which was later renamed Sanford Grammar School. In 1984, the building was placed on the U.S. National Registry of Historic Places and converted into the Student Museum. The building reopened as the University of Central Florida's Public History Center in 2012. In 1927, a high school campus was designed by Elton J. Moughton in the Mediterranean revival style and constructed at 1700 French Avenue. The school reopened on January 10 and was renamed Seminole High School. In 1960, the high school moved to a new campus at 2701 Ridgewood Avenue and the former building on French Avenue was converted to Sanford Junior High School, which was later renamed Sanford Middle School. The old building was demolished in the summer of 1991 and replaced by a $5.77 million school complex. As of 2013, Seminole High School offers various Advanced Placement courses, the Academy for Health Careers, and the International Baccalaureate Programme for students.]]>
The Sanford Herald, page 6A-7A.]]> The Sanford Herald]]> The Sanford Builder]]> The Sanford Herald, page 6A-7A.]]> UCF Public History Center, Sanford, Florida.]]> Seminole County Public Schools Collection, Student Museum and UCF Public History Center Collection, Sanford Collection, Seminole County Collection, RICHES of Central Florida.]]> The Sanford Herald.]]> The Sanford Herald and is provided here by RICHES of Central Florida for educational purposes only.]]>